Skip to content

Adopt Me: Joey is looking for a new home!

Find your special pet and adopt today!
Joey dog

Town and Country Today, in partnership with Second Chance Animal Rescue Society, brings you this feature highlighting a special pet that is in need of adoption.

Hello, I'm Joey and I am looking for a new home!

Animal Type: Dog

Gender: Male

Colour: Black

Approximate Date of Birth: Sept. 23, 2020

Breed: Collie/Shepherd

Intake Date: Sept. 4, 2021

••• Active Home Required ••• Owner Home Often ••• Female Dog In Home Required •••

Hi, I'm Joey! I am a one-year old Border Collie-Shepherd cross. My foster parents say I am a super smart cookie. I learned to sit during my very first lesson and in less than 24 hours I learned to pee outside and haven't had any accidents since! Even though I was a little weary of the leash at first, I now know that it means we go on awesome adventures and I am getting better at walking on a leash every day. There is so much to see and sniff! I can get a little excited when I see another dog but I am learning to sit now when one comes by, so I am getting better. I am good with all people, I am good with dogs, and I love my furry foster sister. I am quite young still, so sometimes she has to tell me if I'm being a bit much for her. She teaches me boundaries and manners. And we play for hours! I would be happiest if I had a playful female dog in my new home, mostly because I DO NOT like to be alone. I get quite anxious and destructive. I would need to go to a home where someone is home most of the time and I will need a furry foster sister to keep me company if we are left alone in the house. I am very affectionate with people and super interested in all the stuff they do: I like to be part of everything! I am eager to please and learn and am very food motivated. I would be good with children older than 5 as I can be quite energetic and might accidentally knock the little ones over. I am happiest when I have a job to do. I help foster dad garden (I carry the sticks), cycle (I run next to him), and I really like it when my foster mom brings out the snuffle mat. I have a smart brain and I need to stay busy or else I get bored and get myself in trouble. So if you like to walk: I'm your guy! Do you like to run? Me too! If you like to cycle: I would love to come along! I go for a five kilometre bike ride every day right now and am learning how to run next to the bike. My foster parents think I would also really enjoy sports such as agility or barn hunt. In other words: if you like to be active indoors and outdoors, and if you are willing to put in the effort to keep me engaged and active, I would be a perfect fit! I like to let you know when a stranger is walking by my house or my yard, but I stop barking once I know you've seen it too. My foster parents believe I have tons of potential and would make an awesome companion!

To see all featured animals who may still need adopting click here or visit: https://www.scarscare.ca/





Comments