Skip to content

COVID-19 map now lists four active cases in County of Barrhead

In Alberta, 2,615 active cases have been identified, the most being in Edmonton with 1,444
The Barrhead region is listed as having four active cases of COVID-19.

Over the Thanksgiving Day long weekend, the number of reported COVID-19 cases in the County of Barrhead area has increased to four, according to the coronavirus status map maintained by the Alberta government. Going into the weekend, the map identified only one active case.

These cases bring the total number of COVID-19 cases identified in the Barrhead region to eight. It should be noted that the four other cases, which were identified earlier this year, have since recovered.

As of today, Tuesday, Oct. 13, the total number of active cases in Alberta stands at 2,615, 97 of which are in the hospital. Thirteen are in intensive care units. The COVID status map, which is updated every afternoon, includes cases identified the previous day.

In neighbouring Westlock County and Woodlands County, no active cases are reported. In Lac Ste. Anne County, three active cases are reported. Elsewhere in our readership area, in Athabasca, the provincial map shows no cases.

The Edmonton zone has the most cases in the province with 1,444. The North Zone, which Barrhead is part of has 127 active cases.

"I continue to be concerned in the rise in cases," said Alberta chief medical officer Deena Hinshaw during her afternoon press conference. "COVID-19 is a difficult virus to contain. The more spread we see in our communities the more likely we will see it in other places as well ... there is no part of the province that is spared from COVID-19, and rural areas that haven’t previously seen many cases, again, it can just take a few active cases showing up in a location where measures are not being put in place."

She also announced that starting Oct. 14, the province will no longer conduct drop-in tests at AHS assessment centres.

If you are exhibiting symptoms of COVID-19 or have been tested positive, you are legally required to stay home for 10 days provided you do not have a pre-existing health condition that would cause these symptoms. These include a cough, fever, shortness of breath, runny nose or sore throat.