Skip to content

Westlock County ratepayers vote for change yet again

Recount will be needed to decide winner of Division 6
Muni election-results

WESTLOCK - For a second-straight municipal election, Westlock County residents have voted for change as the seven-seat council will feature five new faces, while a recount will be needed to decide the winner of Division 6.
The two incumbents in Divisions 1 and 3 failed to retain their seats in the Oct. 18 municipal election, while newcomers were also elected in Divisions 4 and 7 — Brian Coleman (Division 4) and Dennis Primeau (Division 7) didn’t run, while Division 6 has been vacant since last fall following the resignation of Fred Slobodian. Incumbent Jared Stitsen was previously acclaimed in Division 2.
The race of the night was in Division 6 where Stuart Fox-Robinson and Brian Schryver ended up tied at 123 votes apiece. Fox-Robinson received seven votes at the advance polls and 116 on election day, while Schryver got five votes during the advance polls and 118 on Monday.
In an e-mail, Westlock County returning officer Dianne Johnston confirmed a recount will be held later today at 10 a.m. to determine the winner.
In Division 1, newcomer Sherri Provencal steamrolled incumbent Victor Julyan 245 to 71, while in Division 3 Ray Marquette easily topped incumbent Lou Hall 180-74 — Hall had won the seat over Marquette in 2017 by three votes.
Division 4 featured two new candidates and in the end it was Francis Cloutier who took the seat with 205 votes compared to 129 for Lisa Germann.
Meanwhile, Division 5 incumbent Isaac Skuban had a strong showing, netting 200 votes compared to 143 for challenger David Woynorowski.
Finally, in Division 7, Christine Wiese rolled to a 130-vote win over Bert Seatter, 191-61.
County ratepayers cast 163 ballots at the advance polls, while 1,587 votes were cast on election day for a total of 1,750. Election results, which remain unofficial, weren't received until 12:37 a.m., Oct. 19.